Ormskirk Quiz League

A member of the Merseyside Quiz Leagues

Don Liptrot Trophy

The following matches were played on Monday March 30th.

Trophy Round 2

Unison (0) v Squigglers (9)  55-46                      

Ormskirk Tennis Club (17) v Parbold Exiles (27) 59-54          

Red Lion Bulldogs (31) v Ormskirk Theatre Company (27) 70-56      

Aughton Institute (29) v Bye

Plate Round 1

Abbey Saints (18) v Colly Wobblers (8) 47-53

Abbey Sinners (17) v Bye

Rugby Hounds (9) v Helenians (11) 57-47

Benchwarmers (33) v Bye

Don Liptrot Trophy

The first round was played on Monday March 23rd. The results (and handicaps) are below.

Abbey Saints (18) v Unison (0)  52-55

Colly Wobblers (8) v Squigglers (9)  49-59

Abbey Sinners (17) v Ormskirk Tennis Club (17) 43-66

Parbold Exiles (27) v Bye

Red Lion Bulldogs (31) v Rugby Hounds (9)  63-53

Ormskirk Theatre Company (27) v Helenians (11)  63-48

Aughton Institute (29) v Benchwarmers (33)  68-58

Bye v Bye

MIMIR Trophy

Pat Gibson (the holder) and Ray Oakes, both from Old Dog have qualified for the final of the MIMIR Trophy. They will play against two players from Liverpool on May 13th. Charles Johnson from Farmers Arms reached the semi final and just missed out on a place in the final.

Highlights Week 22

Division 1:- John Wilson’s 22 points and a ‘full house’ and Andy Page’s 15 points where the main contributors to Old Dog’s massive total of 63 in their win over Rugby Hounds. Unison beat Colly Wobblers thanks to 17 from Madeline Evans and 15 from Darren Martin. Greyhound finish third after their win over Newburgh Lions; Andy Francis scored 16 for the winners and Jim Maloney 20 for the losers. Helenians had all four players registering double figure scores when they overcame Ormskirk Tennis Club. Charles Johnson’s 23 points saw Farmers Arms victorious in their last game against Sqiugglers; Janet Crompton scored 19 for the losers.

Division 2:- Abbey Sinners are champions after their win over Red Lion Bulldogs; Bill Gerrard scored 15 for Abbey Sinners. Kevin Walton’s 17 points was the major factor In Abbey Saints’ win over Ormskirk Farmers; Abbey Saints therefore finish second.  Aughton Institute, thanks to 15 points from Gordon Richards, beat Whippet who only fielded two players. 14 points from Alan Thompson was enough to see Ormskirk Theatre Company victorious over OCC; this win also means Ormskirk Theatre Company win the Handicap League. 17 points from Jim Dawber was enough to see Parbold Exiles victorious over Benchwarmers, for whom Mike Wall scored 16. 

Congratulations to Jim Maloney (Newburgh Lions) and Gordon Richards (Aughton Institute) who had the highest average score in the two divisions. The highest averages for 2-point answers in each division were Darren Martin (Unison) and Bill Gerrard (Abbey Sinners).  Individual averages for all leading players can be found here.


The inaugural MIMIR2 was an enjoyable evening for players and spectators. Andy Francis (Greyhound) was the winner in the final with 18 points. Joint runners-up with 15 points were Janet Crompton (Squigglers) and Dave Boyd (Helenians). All three matches saw competitive contests.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 > >>


  • Entries (732)