Ormskirk Quiz League

A member of the Merseyside Quiz Leagues

Don Liptrot Trophy

 The first round was played on Monday April 4th.

1 Abbey Saints (15) v Benchwarmers (29) 55-58

2 Ormskirk Tennis Club (19) v Unison (0) 66-48

3 Squigglers (9) v Rugby Hounds (7) 51-53

4 Aughton Institute (32) v Bye

5 Ormskirk Theatre Company (26) v Red Lion Bulldogs (26) 58-68

6 Parbold Exiles (27) v Helenians (10) 67-44

7 Whippet (15) v Abbey Sinners (12) 59-57

8 Colly Wobblers (0) v Bye

Highlights Final Week

Division 1:- An outstanding 27 points and ‘full house’ from Darren Martin was the major factor in Unison’s win over Newburgh Lions. The Abbey derby ended with a win for the Sinners, Bill Gerrard contributing a massive 24 points for the winners and Kevin Walton 15 for the losing team.

Division 2:- Congratulations to Whippet who are Division 2 champions after their win over Red Lion Bulldogs; Steve Garrett scored 18 for Red Lion while Debbie Davidson and Gordon Richards contributed 16 points each for Whippet.   An impressive 24 points from Alan Thompson significantly helped Ormskirk Theatre Company overcome OCC.

John Wilson (Greyhound) topped the individual averages in Division 1 with an average score of 19.53. Pat Gibson (Colly Wobblers) had the highest average for own questions with 6.5 from a possible 8 in each match.

Paul Prior (Ormskirk Tennis Club) topped both tables in Division 2 with scores of 21.56 and 4.78.

The leading averages in both divisions are available here.

MIMIR Merseyside Heat

Seven Ormskirk players took part in this event. In the first round, holder Pat Gibson (Colly Wobblers) and Paul Prior (Ormskirk Tennis Club) both qualified as winners of their heat with a score of 19 points - the highest of any player. Andy McGowan (Colly Wobblers) also qualified by finishing second in his heat.

In the second round Andy and Paul were in the same heat, Andy progressing with a second placed finish. Unfortunately he was unable to qualify for the final which for the first time in many years will not have an Ormskirk representative.

Highlights Week 22

Division 1:-Colly Wobblers are champions after a narrow victory over Rugby Hounds which went to the final question; Mike Unsworth scored 20 and Pat Gibson 17 for the winners with David Hodgson registering 15 for the losers. Unison are second after their win over Greyhound. 17 points from Sue Perks greatly helped Robin Hood overcome Abbey Saints. Janet Crompton (18) and Barry Marshall (17) led the scoring for Squigglers who beat Helenians for whom Dave Boyd scored 16.

Division 2:- Whippet are champions with a game to spare after beating Ormskirk Theatre Company; all four Whippet players registered double points scores. Gang of Four finish in second place with a win over Benchwarmers for whom Rob Green scored 16; Mal Jones (15) and Rob Jones (16) led the scoring for the winners. In the other two games OCC beat Ormskirk Farmers and Parbold Exiles beat Red Lion Bulldogs.


Eight players took part in this event, for those who did not play in the Ormskirk heat of the MIMIR Trophy. Both semifinals went to extra rounds for second place - one to a tie-break (What was the date of Roger Moore's birth?)

Barbara Flaherty (Abbey Saints) won the final with 16 points followed by her husband Mike (Helenians) and Gordon Richards (Whippet) both with 14, and holder Andy Francis (Greyhound) with 9.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 > >>


  • Entries (733)