Ormskirk Quiz League

A member of the Merseyside Quiz Leagues

President's Trophy

Ormskirk retained the President's Trophy by winning two games against Southport & Formby. The first game was rearranged from December. Ormskirk won 55-35. Pat Gibson scored 26 points supported by John Wilson 13 and Mike Unsworth 11. In the second game the score was 38-29. The highest scorer in this game was Andy Francis with 11 closely followed by John Wilson on 10.

Highlights Week 19

Division 1:- 15 points from Mike Preston saw Robin Hood victorious over Greyhound. Despite 16 points from David Hodgson, Rugby Hounds lost to Colly Wobblers for whom Mike Unsworth scored 18. Helenians had a narrow and welcome victory over Squigglers; Dave Boyd scored 15 for Helenians as did Janet Crompton for Squigglers. Charles Johnson scored 20 points as Farmers Arms overcame Newburgh Lions; Jim Maloney contributed 18 to Newburgh’s score. Unison had the narrowest of wins over Ormskirk Tennis Club. 

Division 2:- Benchwarmers recorded their second win of the season beating Abbey Saints by a single point; Mike Wall scored 17 and Rob Green 16 for the winners. Gang of Four with only three players overcame Aughton Institute, Eric Moore scoring 17 for Gang of Four. 18 points from Gerard Molyneux was a major factor in Ormskirk Farmers’ win over Red Lion Bulldogs. Abbey Sinners are top after their win over OCC, Bill Gerrard scoring 15 for the winners.

It is third against second next week in Division 2 when Abbey Saints host Gang of Four.

In the Handicap League Abbey Sinners lead by one point from Ormskirk Theatre Company with Farmers Arms two points behind in third.

MIMIR Trophy

The Ormskirk heat took place at the Greyhound on Wednesday. All sixteen places in the draw were filled very quickly. A high standard of competition ensued for players and spectators, greatly enhanced by accessible questions.

Photos from the event can be viewed here

GROUP 1                                            GROUP 2                                            GROUP 3                                           GROUP 4

Mike Unsworth  18                             Alan Gibbs 14                                   John Wilson 15                                  Ray Oakes 16

Alan Thompson 8                               Bill Gerrard 10                                    Madeline Evans 11                            Andy McGowan 10

Charles Johnson 14                           Paul Prior 12                                      Darren Martin 18                               Steve Feller 10

Arthur Heyes 11                                  David Hodgson 17                             Peter Duffy 10                                    Pat Gibson 18


SEMI FINAL 1                                       SEMI FINAL 2

Mike Unsworth 11                               Charles Johnson 11

Alan Gibbs 12                                     John Wilson 14

Darren Martin 16                                David Hodgson 11

Ray Oakes 14                                     Pat Gibson 17


After five rounds of the FINAL the scores were

Pat Gibson 15

John Wilson 15  

Darren Martin 14

Ray Oakes 13

In a tie-break John answered all three questions, whereas Pat only answered two correctly.

The 2015 Ormskirk MIMIR Champion is John Wilson.

The draw for the MQL MIMIR on Wednesday March 18th can be found here.

Highlights Catchup Week

There were three postponed games in Division 2 this week. Abbey Sinners move back to the top of the table after a comfortable win over a three man Whippet; Bill Gerrard top scored for the Sinners with15 points. Abbey Saints are second after their win over Parbold Exiles. Benchwarmers won their first game of the season beating Ormskirk Farmers but remain at the foot of the table. 

Presentation NIght

The Presentation Night will be held at Aughton Institute on Monday April 20th.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 > >>


  • Entries (731)