Ormskirk Quiz League

A member of the Merseyside Quiz Leagues

President's Trophy

Ormskirk beat Warrington by a single point 38-37. Highest scorers were John Wilson 13 and Andy Page 11.

This concludes an unbeaten season and defence of the Trophy.

Highlights Week 20

Division 1:- Old Dog stay top after beating Greyhound, Karl Whelan scoring 18 for the winners. Unison maintained second place after beating Squigglers thanks to 23 from Darren Martin and 15 from Dave Kenrick. Dave Waddilove’s 20 points saw Wheatsheaf home in a close game against Gang of Four.  Rugby Hounds, with only 3 players, overcame Colly Wobblers thanks to 22 from David Hodgson. Robin Hood had a much needed win over Ormskirk Tennis Club for whom Paul Prior scored 20. Helenians, with a good all round team performance had a comfortable win over Farmers Arms but stay in the relegation zone.

Division 2:- With Abbey Saints having a free week, Newburgh Lions re-assumed the leadership with a win over Red Lion (Burscough), Jim Maloney contributing 18 towards the win, in what was an unpopular Tuesday quiz. Abbey Sinners stay third after a narrow win over Ormskirk Theatre Company thanks to 19 from Francis Williams.  Whippet beat OCC, Charlie McAuley scoring 17 for the winners and Val Hyson 17 for the losers.


MIMIR Trophy

Fourteen players assembled at the Greyhound for this year's Ormskirk heat.

Three of the four first round matches went to a tiebreak for second place.

The scores in the final, in order of answering, were:-

Karl Whelan  17

Darren Martin 11

Ray Oakes  12

Pat Gibson  17

Pat won a tie break and is Ormskirk Champion for the fifth time.

Highlights Catchup Week

In Division 2 Parbold Exiles won their postponed game against Ormskirk Theatre Company in a close game. Jim Dawber scored 20 for the Exiles while Alan Thompson contributed 18 to The Theatre Company’s score.  In the other postponed game Ormskirk Farmers played Aughton Institute. Aughton won comfortably mainly due to a staggering 31 points and a full house from Gordon Richards.

Leading the way in the Handicap League are Ormskirk Tennis Club with 33pts, Abbey Sinners second on 28 pts. and 3rd Farmers Arms 27pts.

With 3 games left the leading individual averages in division 1 are:- 1st Darren Martin (Unison) 20.0, joint  2nd Alan Gibbs (Wheatsheaf) and Paul Prior (Ormskirk Tennis Club) 17.2 and 4th Pat Gibson (Old Dog) 16.3.

In division 2:- 1st. Jim Maloney 17.2, 2nd Gordon Richards 15.9, 3rd Bill Gerard 15.0 and 4th Barbara Flaherty 13.4.

In the average of own questions answered per game category, leading the way in Division 1 is Darren Martin  with 6.13 closely followed by Pat Gibson with 6.12 and 3rd Alan Gibbs with 5.41.

In Division 2 the leader is again Jim Maloney  with 4.4 ; second is Bill Gerard with 4.1 and 3rd Jim Dawber with 4.1

Presentation Night

The Presentation and Finals Night will take place at Aughton Institute on Monday April 28th.

A window for entries for the Handicap Knockout will be announced at the end of next week.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 > >>


  • Entries (731)